()

“您是否知道拥有您自己孩子的那种感觉?对我们而言, 只有一种方式可以分享那种感觉那就是--如果有另一名妇女愿意捐赠她的卵子或者有另一位妇女愿意成为一个代孕妈妈, 全程帮我们代理怀孕这个辛苦又神圣的工作 ...”

在Rikas Medical的不孕生殖

Rikas Medical非常诚心地欢迎各位! 我们汇集了下面文章来介绍我们的中心和描述Rikas Medical如何在每个阶段支持您,协助您走过旅程中的每一步。我们希望您会发现这些文章对您是有帮助的,也许它将会成为您的不孕生殖旅程中的第一步带领着您,让您的梦想成真。

我们希望您喜欢这些文章,这些文章能帮助您决定是否需要接受人工生殖, 也能让您判断Rikas Medical是否是您要做人工生殖的最佳选择。

同时, 我们非常喜爱听到你的声音!如果您有重要的或私下的医疗问题想在保密的情况下与我们聊聊关于Rikas Medical,还有想了解我们中心可以如何支援您,可以如何为您提供我们的服务, 欢迎您在最后面的联络表上写出您的想法。如果您有您任何问题,欢迎您随时和我们保持联系。

不孕症的诊断

一个快速诊断和随后的不孕症有效的治疗对不孕患者特别重要。确定是否有必要对不孕症进行治疗通常是一个困难和有点随意的决定。有些专业人士建议在6个月内仔细定时并且在无保护措施的性交后,或更常见的是,在一年随机尝试受孕后,夫妇们寻求某种形式的不孕的评估。虽然个人的生殖能力可以许多不同的方法来估计,但生育是夫妻经过几种特定的相互作用下产物。因此,不孕症的评估,必须以夫妻的整体状况来考量。

全面生育能力的评估超过对于生殖器官和生殖细胞(精子和卵子)的评估。不孕症患者的身体检查,例如,包括循环系统的评估,内分泌和神经功能的评估。口头或书面询问病史和生活习惯的特点也很重要, 这些都可能影响生殖健康医疗。

检查一男性患者事实上很简单, 即由他生殖器官和生殖细胞(精子)获得。但是,这种简易就能获取男性的精子样本并不表示男性患者就能有更好的和更多样化的不孕治疗。这是因为,在某种程度上,一直以来人们持续的缺乏了解男性的生殖生理。虽然精液分析可以用来评估男性精液的质量,数量和生育功能等几个方面,但还有很大的不确定性和什么样的参数才可以可靠地鉴别精子的受孕能力, 并不是每个精子都能请卵子受精。

女性生殖健康可以通过各种不同的间接指标(例如,月经规律,贺尔蒙激素水平,子宫颈粘液,等等)和直接的方法来评估(例如,组织切片,腹腔镜检查,超音波检查等) 。这些测试经常可以轻易找出可用来治疗的状况,或者,相反地,利用这些测试也可以轻易地测出病症严重以致妊娠成功是极不可能的状况。即使诊断技术已到了如此的精密水准,然而,没有任何不孕症测试能完完全全地预测一个女人受孕或维持妊娠的能力。
目前的诊断方法已能够辨识导致大多数不孕的主因。还有些特发性(原因不明)的不孕症病例里,有的甚至无法诊断出不孕的原因。在技术上而言,夫妻整体的互动和相容性(例如,精子与宫颈粘液之间的交互作用)提供了夫妻生殖能力的最佳预测指标。这个领域需要更多的基础研究和应用研究。直到更多的生殖功能障碍被被发现,否则成功的生产仍然绝对是夫妻的生育能力的证明。

重点治疗区域


我们对每对夫妇都单独作业,以确定依您们个人的情况来采取最佳治疗选择。而这些评估是不收取任何费用的- 您只需事先和我们预约。我们会保留您自己个人医生的最佳建议,一旦你怀孕了,你可以继续回去让您自己的个人医生为您做追踪和产检。除了整个范围的生殖医学解决方案之外,具体的重点应该专注在泌尿科,男性专科及和妇科上。
我们很高兴接收最困难, 以及被预估受孕率较差甚至很低的的病例,在其他地方接了您们后可能拒绝治疗,甚至在治疗周期中中途取消治疗(因为他们担心这样会降低他们的怀孕率数据,因而伤了他们的在市场上“行销”的努力)。我们会诚实的给你一个在任何特定的治疗周期中能受孕的机率评估,也不会人为地“选择病人”以“夸大”统计资料。我们很乐意接受35岁以上,只有少数卵泡或完全没有卵泡女性患者,以前做过人工受孕失败的夫妻,和严重精子数过低或射精无精子的男性. (这些状况的男性需要使用显微睾丸取精(TESE))。尽管如此,为了让精虫保持在最高质量的可能性, 我们始终站在新技术的最前线,我们会给这些即使是困难,预后成功怀孕率较差较低的患者最好的机会。尽管我们接受了一些别的医疗机构最不喜欢的麻烦病人,我们还是达到了相当高的受孕率。我们在乌克兰已被列为不孕症治疗及辅助夫妇生殖服务的领头羊之一。

我们采用最有效的刺激方案,最先进的文化系统,以及非常精致的微技术实验室(如ICSI ,辅助孵化,片段去除,甚至卵裂球检体切片,以最大可能提高您的机会来拥有一个孩子),上述这些医疗都没有附加费或搞一些噱头的付款计划。
我们专注于最困难的不孕问题,那些曾经努力无数次却一直未能受精或怀孕的问题,即使有这样棘手的状况,在我们接手后也都能成功地把这些问题解决, 我们在这些棘手病例上的成绩是相当亮眼的。患者不孕的问题从世界各地传到我们这里。然而,我们也接受简单的不孕症病人。我们倾向避免那些不必要的常规检查和昂贵的治疗方法,让病人花了一大把金钱后怀孕的成功率又很低,最后造成夫妻俩什么都没得到,只得到更多的无奈和挫折。我们的政策和做法就是向您推荐最有可能让你最快怀孕, 及最有效的不孕症治疗方法。

不孕症病人在治疗时的感觉不但是揪心痛苦的还要承受莫大的压力。我们坚持提供个人的关怀和照顾,我们引导您走过人生中这个艰难的时期。你可以在任何时间放心地打电话来询问任何有关不孕症的问题,不孕症的担忧或不孕症的治疗。

IVF(体外受精) 与卵子捐赠

在体外受精(IVF)和卵胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)解决了最常被忽视无法怀孕的窘境。如果不孕的原因真的是精子数量太少,精子可以直接注射到卵子。如果不孕的原因是排卵能力比较差,我们可以使用卵巢激素来刺激排卵再把需要的卵子抽取出来。如果问题是出在可怜的子宫颈沾粘而阻塞精子进入子宫,现在这些新技术都同样可以解决这个问题。如果问题是子宫内膜异位症(一种备受质疑,但又很受欢迎诊断),使用试管婴儿受精方法(IVF)也可以克服了这个不利受孕的环境,子宫内膜异位症理应会在女人的骨盆。如果问题是出在卵子需要从卵巢表面的输卵管取出来那这个困难度就很高(一个棘手的壮举,其中取卵的吸管必能接触到输卵管的卵子,抽取到卵子后接着把吸管扭转回头,取出卵子),如果只是单纯的试管婴儿,以及配子输卵管内移植(GIFT),就可以再次跳过这个折磨。
任何事情都有可能出错尤其是就在精子和卵子正常地要通过时的这个在特别的过程中,这些可能的问题都可以运用IVF(试管婴儿受精) 和ICSI(卵胞浆内单精子注射) 解决。如果夫妻认真持续做几个周期的不孕治疗,那这位女性就会慢慢地顺着她的生理时钟(生理周期),不管之前的诊断是什么或是多么严重的问题这种认真坚持的夫妻大多数最终会怀孕。

随着先进的ICSI技术的运用,现在只有偶尔需要使用捐赠的精子,但对供卵(捐赠卵子)仍有的强烈需求。这是我们的希望,期待读到这段文字的女性们能够学习到如何绘制他自己的生理时钟(生理周期),妇女们从此能够更有知识以避免自己的人生得依赖捐赠卵子。然而,一个年纪较大的女人,纵使她的卵子已经用完了,依旧能够怀孕(前提上使用的当然是她丈夫的精子), 这个方法就是取用一个年轻女子所捐的卵子来做为胚胎的来源。夫妻对于使用捐赠卵子生产的接受度远高于接受使用捐赠的精子,因为女性仍然负有怀胎和生产的任务。而女人因为怀着孩子,在10个月的怀孕过程中,女人的对于肚子里的胎儿所付出的感情已经完全与胎儿完全融合,甚至绑在一起了, 所以女人们对于使用捐赠的卵子而受孕怀胎的负面反应很少。接下来的日子, 不论是由卵子捐赠所生下来的孩子们,或对于他们的父母而言,结局都是美好的。这些家庭都是幸福的。

问题来了, “这是谁的孩子呢? ”悄悄地捐卵,代孕,并通过争议的每一个方面。接受捐卵,也就是使用捐赠的卵子来受孕这个方法远比不孕夫妇在内心一直挣扎或花大钱跑遍世界可能的地方去领养一个孩子更安全。用捐赠的卵子,在乌克兰是经由立法规定并许可的,没有风险(和领养一样)! 乌克兰的法律规定卵子捐赠者必须完全保持匿名, 他们不能知道卵子捐赠的对象,他们也不能干扰或宣称自己是孩子或胚胎的卵子捐赠者。

即使女人没有子宫也可以有孩子。这可能是她的母亲,一个闰密,姐妹,或代理孕母(通过代孕的过程中) ,帮忙这位没有子宫的妇女怀着她的亲生孩子,然后等宝宝出生后再将孩子交还给这位女性。这就是所谓的代孕技术。使用这种代孕方法可以从代理孕母在刚分娩后就开始安排合法的收养了。这些程序在乌克兰的医学和法律上非常安全可靠的。如果你没有朋友或家庭成员谁可以为您代理怀孕生一个宝宝,我们可以帮妳找到你一个有爱心的代理孕母来为你做这个神的任务。

在乌克兰代孕


代孕是一个过程,是由另一位女性来帮忙怀着那些无法生育的夫妇的婴儿。在通常情况下,期待怀孕的母性自己本身无法受孕,或者因为自身体质或医疗问题等各种不同的因素而法顺利完成整个怀孕周期生下孩子。期待为父为母的夫妻们须要认真看待为何要使用代孕方法来拥有自己的孩子, 这些最普遍见的原因就是:会流产的妇女,尽管有在治疗但仍经常有复发性流产情形者,还有做过多次试管婴儿治疗却仍然反复失败者,再来就是那些因为接受过癌症治疗,特别是子宫方面的癌症治疗者或子宫切除术导致过早停经,无子宫症或畸形子宫的这些女性族群,我们都认为接受代孕会是较有可能拥有自己孩子较好的选择。
1. 在过去几年中,代孕在乌克兰的法律规范上发生重大的变化。由于2013年9月的09th通过了,并发出乌克兰第787部命令''乌克兰关于辅助生殖技术的应用议事审批令”(以下简称–787号命令) “Rikas Medical立即将这项改变性的立法反映到我们的临床运用规则上。在应用辅助生殖的领域上,乌克兰法律不包括代孕的各个方面,特别是当它涉及到外国人。不过,值得一提的是,近年来代孕的法律规制出现了显著的变化,特别是:

  1. 只有已婚夫妇,对丈夫和妻子才能被赋予代孕计划的权利。同时,单身不能行使这样的权利;
  2. 在代孕计划中使用捐赠卵子或精子的权利完全须依法律规定实行;
  3. 确认父母或父母任一方与子女之间有基因联结,需遵由法律规定。需以通过787号命令中所规定的格式证书来确认基因连结的关系;
  4. 需要使用代理孕母时, 代孕妈妈的丈夫若同意就必需在法律787号命令规定下签署代孕技术方案的官方规定书面同意书, 签署后便表示丈夫同意代孕妈妈执行, 而丈夫所签署之同意书具有完全法律效应的约制;
  5. 在代孕妈妈和委托人夫妻之间的代孕程序需要由正式法律规定的公证协议来执行。

妊娠代孕,在乌克兰即允许只有一个用途,就是用来在实施试管婴儿上使用,或者使用在准备怀孕的母亲的卵子,或捐赠卵子上。在代孕计划中,该代孕妈妈不使用自己的卵子,并在遗传上跟宝宝没有血缘关系。这样的代孕过程在物理上是比较复杂的,且比直(或传统)代母更昂贵,治疗过程一定要在一个具有试管婴儿技术与不孕症治疗技术的诊所。乌克兰法律严格的禁止代理孕母用自己的卵子在代孕过程中为他人怀孕。
最基本的,代孕过程须经过三个阶段:

  1. 捐卵:预期父母中的女性或卵子捐赠者,经过特殊程序取出了一些品好的卵子;
  2. 受精:卵是在实验室精液受精;
  3. 植入:胚胎在第5日囊胚期时就会被植入代理孕母子宫内, 这个时期把胚胎植入子宫可以提高怀孕机率,降低多胎胞的机率。

现在的科技己经发达到可以使用”新鲜的胚胎”或”冷冻胚胎”植入到代理孕母体内“。要使用植入新鲜胚胎法要就要使代理孕母和捐卵者每月的周期同步,这些周期同步化都必需使用一些激素药物的协助才能达到同步的进行。使用冷冻胚胎的话,只代孕妈妈需要为植入胚胎“准备” ,同样的,代孕妈妈需要使用激素药物,让她的子宫准备好了,不孕中心的医生可能会要求代孕妈妈要先经过一个“模拟植入”,以确保她的体质上已经准备好可以成为一个代孕妈妈了,跟一般的子宫颈抺片检查比起来,这个过程不会比较痛苦或不舒服。

事实上,代孕需要用试管婴儿技术,这需要一个专业的不孕症试管婴儿中心才能做得好。但是不孕症试管婴儿中心的品质参差不齐,有些诊所会在伦理委员会还未批准你的不孕症试管婴儿中心可以开始为你做不孕症治的情况之前就坚持先帮你进行治疗。如果您没有收到代孕意义的辅导,不孕症试管婴儿中心可能需要您到他们诊所配合的独立顾问其中之一去做咨询。该诊所将安排要求各方面,包括准父母和代理孕母参与并接受多项检查程序。每家不孕症试管婴儿中心的检查程序不一定都相同,您的诊所会告诉你哪些检查是必需的。因为HIV病毒有长期的潜伏期,您的不孕症试管婴儿中心通常会要求您所提供要使用的精液需已被冻结六个月。这一道手续无异于又多了6个月的等待时间。

代理孕母的人格与品德关联是非常重要的,不管生产前或生产后,你都会花了很多时间来和你的代孕妈妈在一起,不管是聊天或沟通。在Rikas Medical,我们非常坚信,代理孕母和准父母双方都应该先建立友谊,互相取得好感与信任和再来安排代理孕母的进行。如果你喜欢你的代孕妈妈,你可以把你的代孕妈妈当成一个可靠的朋友,那么在未来的十个月里你才会有一个坚实放心的的代孕过程。

Rikas FERTILITY GUIDE
After multiple requests from our patients who were looking for the proper and efficient treatment for their fertility issues, we have prepared this fertility guide to help you find the right way in your fertility treatment process...
        
Find out more at rikasmedical.com
JOIN OUR COMMUNITY!
Subscribe to newsletters and view the content.
  We hate spam and never share your details.

Assisted Reproduction

“Do you know how it feels to have your own child? For us, there is only one way we could share that feeling – if another woman donates her eggs or will be going through the process of gestational surrogacy for us...”

Assisted reproduction at Rikas Medical

A very warm welcome from Rikas Medical! We have put together the below articles to introduce our Centre and to describe how Rikas Medical can support you through every stage of an assisted reproduction journey, including IVF & Egg donation, also gestational surrogacy. We hope that you will find it useful, and that it may be the first step on your journey towards making your couple’s dreams come true.

We hope you enjoy reading this, and that it helps you work out whether assisted reproduction and Rikas Medical are the best choice for you.

Meanwhile, we would love to hear from you! If you would like to have a confidential chat about Rikas Medical, the support we can offer you, and our services, please fill free to find the contact details at the end. Please get in touch with us if you have any questions you would like to ask.

Diagnosis of infertility

A rapid diagnosis and subsequent fertility treatments are particularly crucial for the efficient treatment of patient infertility. Determining that there is a need for fertility treatments is often a difficult and somewhat arbitrary decision. Some professionals suggest that after 6 months of carefully timed unprotected intercourse or, more commonly, after a year of random attempts to conceive, a couple seek some form of infertility evaluation. Although an individual’s reproductive capacity can be estimated with several methods, fertility is a product of the specific interactions within a couple. Evaluation of infertility, therefore, must consider the couple as a whole.

A thorough assessment of fertility extends beyond an evaluation of reproductive organs and reproductive germ cells (sperm and eggs). Physical examination of the infertility patient, for example, includes assessment of circulatory, endocrine, and neurologic function. Oral or written history of medical and lifestyle characteristics that may influence reproductive health is also important.

Examination of a male patient is simplified by the fact that his reproductive organs and germ cells (sperm) are readily accessible. However, this ease of accessibility is not accompanied by better and more varied fertility treatments in the male patients. This is due, in part, to a continued lack of knowledge about male reproductive physiology. Although semen analysis does permit evaluation of several aspects of male reproductive function and of semen quality and quantity, much uncertainty remains about what parameters can reliably differentiate sperm capable of fertilizing an egg from the one that is not.

Female reproductive health can be estimated through a variety of indirect indicators (e.g., menstrual regularity, hormone levels, properties of cervical mucus, etc.) and direct methods (e.g., tissue biopsy, laparoscopy, ultrasound imaging, etc.). These tests can often pinpoint easily treatable conditions or, in contrast, disorders so severe that successful pregnancy is highly unlikely. Even with the current sophisticated level of diagnostic technology, however, no fertility test can positively predict a woman’s ability to conceive or maintain a pregnancy.
Present diagnostic methods are able to identify a factor contributing to infertility in the majority of cases. In cases of idiopathic (unexplained) infertility, diagnostic technologies have failed. Techniques that consider the interaction and compatibility of a couple as a whole (e.g., interaction between sperm and cervical mucus) provide some of the best predictors of a couple’s ability to have a child. More basic and applied research is needed in this area. Until more is known about reproductive dysfunction, successful reproduction will remain the only absolute verification of a couple’s fertility.

Key treatment areas


We work individually with each couple to determine what the best choice of treatment for their personal situation is. No fees are charged for such evaluation – simply book an appointment with us. We may keep your own personal doctors well informed, and once you are pregnant, you can go back to them for your care. In addition to the entire spectrum of reproductive medicine solutions, specific focus is placed on the urology, andrology and gynecology.
We are happy to take the most difficult cases, which have poorer prognosis, that other programs may refuse to treat or even cancel in mid-cycle (for fear it would lower their reportable pregnancy rate and thereby hurt their “marketing” efforts). We will give you an honest appraisal of your chance for pregnancy in any given treatment cycle and will not artificially “inflate” statistics by “patient selection.” We are happy to take female patients over 35 with only small numbers of follicles or no follicles at all, couples with previous IVF failure, and men with severely low sperm counts or no sperm at all in the ejaculate (requiring microsurgical testicular sperm extraction (TESE)). Nonetheless, by maintaining the highest possible quality of care and always being on the cutting edge of new technology, we will give even these difficult, poorer prognosis patients their best possible chance. We achieve relatively high pregnancy rates despite taking on some of the most unfavorable cases. We have been ranked as one of the leading providers of infertility and assisted reproductive services to couples in Ukraine.

We do employ the most effective stimulation protocols, the most advanced culture systems, and very refined micro-techniques in the lab (such as ICSI, assisted hatching, fragment removal, and even blastomere biopsy to maximize your chance for having a baby) with no add-on fees or gimmick payment plans.
We do specialize in the most difficult infertility problems, where there has been a failure to fertilize or to achieve pregnancy in previous efforts, and our results are quite positive even with such cases. Patients with difficult infertility problems fly to us from all over the world. However, we will also treat simpler cases as well. We always prefer to avoid needless and expensive conventional testing and treatment approaches that give low success rates and just add to the couple’s mounting frustration. Our policy is to recommend the most effective fertility treatments that are likely to get you pregnant the soonest.

Fertility treatments can be emotionally wrenching and can place a great deal of stress on the patient. We insist on providing personal care and attention as we guide you through this difficult period of your life. You should please feel comfortable to call us at any time regarding any questions, problems or worries.

IVF & Egg donation

In vitro fertilization (IVF) and intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) solve the quandary presented by our frequent ignorance of why couples are not getting pregnant. If the cause of infertility really is low sperm count, the sperm can be microinjected directly into the egg. If the cause of the problem is poor ovulation, the hormonal stimulation and aspiration of eggs from the ovaries removes the need for ovulation. If the issue is poor cervical mucus blocking the entrance of sperm into the womb, these new technologies can bypass that problem as well. If the problem is endometriosis (a highly questionable but very popular diagnosis), again IVF overcomes the unfavorable environment for fertilization that endometriosis supposedly creates in the woman’s pelvis. If the problem is poor pickup of the egg by the fallopian tube from the surface of the ovary (a tricky feat in which the fallopian tube has to “reach over” and grab the egg by twisting back on itself), IVF as well as gamete intrafallopian transfer (GIFT) once again bypasses this obstacle.
Almost anything that can go wrong during the arduous process that sperm and eggs normally have to go through and these issues can be bypassed with IVF and ICSI. If the couple is committed to several fertility treatments cycles, and the woman is not too far along on her biological clock, most will eventually get pregnant no matter what the diagnosis and no matter how severe the problem.

With the advent of ICSI, there is now only an occasional need for donor sperm, but there is still a strong need for donor eggs. It is our hope that women who read this will learn how to plot their own biological clock, and thereby will be able to avoid having to resort to egg donation by planning their life more knowledgeably. However, an older woman who has already run out of her own supply of fertile eggs can still get pregnant (using her husband’s sperm, of course) with embryos derived from the eggs of a younger woman. Couples much more readily accept egg donation emotionally than sperm donation, because the woman still gets to carry and deliver the baby. Because the woman carries the baby, emotional bonding is rarely adversely affected by the fact that the baby has been derived from a donor egg. Follow-up on the children who have resulted from egg donation, and on their parents, is wonderful. These are happy families.

The question, "Whose baby is it?" creeps into every aspect of egg donation, gestational surrogacy, and adoption controversies. Adopting eggs, i.e. using donated eggs, are much more secure for the infertile couple than struggling and traveling around the world to try to find a baby to adopt at an enormous cost. With donor eggs, which are legally recognized in Ukraine, there is no risk (as with adoption) that the egg donor could ever interfere or lay claim to the child or to the embryos as egg donor remains fully anonymous.

Even a woman without a uterus can have a child. It is possible for her mother, a very close friend, a sister, or a surrogate (through the process of gestational surrogacy), to carry her biological child for her and then give that child back to her after the delivery. This is called gestational surrogacy. It is possible to arrange legal adoption from the surrogate just after the delivery. These procedures are medically and legally extremely safe and reliable in Ukraine. If you have no friend or family member who can carry your baby, we can, nonetheless, find you gestational surrogates who can do this for you with love in their hearts.

Gestational surrogacy in Ukraine


Gestational surrogacy is a process when a woman carries a baby for a couple who is unable to conceive or carry a child itself. Usually the intended mother cannot conceive, or carry a child to term, due to a medical problem. Common reasons why intended parents may look at gestational surrogacy are: recurrent miscarriage in spite of all possible treatments, repeated failure of IVF treatment, premature menopause often as a result of cancer treatment, a hysterectomy, or an absent or abnormal uterus.
Over the last years, significant changes have taken place in the legal regulation of gestational surrogacy in Ukraine. Since the Order of the Ministry of Health of Ukraine No. 787 was issued on the 9th of September 2013 "On the Approval of the Procedure of Assisted Reproductive Technologies Application in Ukraine" (hereinafter – Order No. 787), Rikas Medical immediately reflected this legislative change in our rules. Ukrainian legislation in the sphere of application of assisted reproduction does not cover all aspects of the gestational surrogacy, especially when it comes to foreigners. However, it worth noting that in recent years there has been significant changes in the legal regulation of gestational surrogacy, in particular:

  1. The right to undertake gestational surrogacy program was given only for married couples, for husband and wife. Meanwhile, singles cannot exercise such a right;
  2. The right to use donor gametes in gestational surrogacy program was clearly provided by law;
  3. The need to confirm the genetic link between the parents or one of the parents and child was provided by law. A certificate in the form prescribed by the Order No. 787 must confirm such connection;
  4. The need to execute in gestational surrogacy program written consent of the surrogate mother’s husband in the form prescribed by the Order No. 787 was provided by law;
  5. The need to execute in gestational surrogacy program notarized agreement between the surrogate mother and the couple was provided by law.

Gestational surrogacy, the only one that is permitted in Ukraine, is when IVF is used, either with the eggs of the intended mother, or with donor eggs. In gestational surrogacy program, the surrogate mother therefore does not use her own eggs, and is genetically unrelated to the baby. It is physically more complicated and considerably more expensive than straight (or traditional) surrogacy, and treatment always takes place in an IVF & Fertility clinic. Ukrainian law strictly prohibits usage of surrogates’ own eggs in gestational surrogacy.
In essence, there are three stages are involved in gestational surrogacy, namely:

  1. Egg donation: the female intended parent, or the egg donor, undergo special procedures to extract a number of eggs;
  2. Fertilization: the eggs are fertilized with semen in the lab;
  3. Transfer: the 5 day blastocyst is transferred into the womb of the surrogate mother resulting in high pregnancy rates with low multiple pregnancy rates. After a double blastocyst transfer, a much higher percentage of pregnancies were of two or more fetuses, approaching 50% in women aged 18 to 34 years.

The embryos can be transferred to surrogate mother either "fresh‟ or frozen. For a fresh embryo transfer the monthly cycles of surrogate mother and egg donor must be synchronized, and this is done using hormone medications. In cases where embryos have been frozen already, only surrogate mother will need to be “prepared” for a transfer, again using hormone medications to get her womb ready. The IVF & Fertility clinic may require surrogate mother to undergo a “mock transfer” to ensure she is physically capable of being a surrogate mother. This is no more painful or uncomfortable than the usual cervical smear.

Indeed, gestational surrogacy requires IVF, which requires the services of IVF & Fertility clinic. Clinics may vary, but some will insist that their ethics committee approve your case before allowing treatment to commence. If you have not received gestational surrogacy implications counseling, the IVF & Fertility clinic may require you to see one of the clinic’s independent counselors. The clinic will require all parties involved in the gestational surrogacy arrangement to undergo a number of checks or procedures. These will vary, and your clinic will advise you which ones are required. Because of the long incubation period for HIV, your clinic will usually require that the semen used has been frozen prior to use.

Gestational surrogacy is very much about personalities and you will be spending a lot of time together with your surrogate mother before and probably after the baby is born. At Rikas Medical, we very firmly believe that friendship should come first and gestational surrogacy second. If you find a surrogate mother that you like, and whom you trust as friend, then you will have a strong foundation for a gestational surrogacy arrangement.